I Want to Be Healthy

Our Family

I’m just going to say it:  I want to be healthy.  There, I’ve said it.  I want to be healthy.  That’s my blog title.  One day I hope I can say, “I am healthy,” but until then it’s I want to be.  I like reading health tips online, finding healthy recipes, watching health shows and reading books and magazines about health.  My problem is I just can’t seem to put into practice everything that I’ve learned, especially when it comes to eating healthy.  My other problem is I really love to watch cooking shows.  Hmmm.  Now imagine my dilemma as I watch Paula Deen with her ‘butter makes it better’ cooking philosophy.  I’m drooling right now just thinking of those tantalizing, butter-dripping morsels she pops into her mouth as she drawls “Y’all!”  And don’t get me started on Diners, Drive-ins and Dives – I love Triple D!  I’ve never seen Guy Fieri put one healthy thing into his mouth.  But then it just wouldn’t be Triple D!

I guess the heart of the matter is that my focus is in the wrong place.  If I really want to be healthy, I must put into practice the things that I’ve learned (and lay off the afternoon Paula and late night Triple D!).  I have a notebook full of health tips, supplements, recipes, websites and alternative treatments or suggestions, mostly from the Dr. Oz Show. (Yes, I like Dr. Oz.)  And the books.  My husband has threatened me with bodily harm if I buy another book on dieting or health.  However, my notebook and books are absolutely worthless if I don’t put the suggestions into practice.  I can compile healthy recipes until I have enough to fill a recipe book, but if I continue eating in the same unhealthy way the recipes might as well be placed in the recycle bin.

Having a misplaced focus can get us into a real pickle – pardon the pun!  I can spend all day watching shows and reading articles about health while munching on a bag of potato chips and chocolate chip cookies (my two personal favorites). I also love to share the latest health tips I’ve learned to anyone who will listen.  I can see my husband and kids rolling their eyes at me now as I share just one more “Dr. Oz says”.  But putting it into practice – ah ha, there’s the dilemma.   The bottom line is this:  if I practice what I preach I will be healthy, or at least healthier.

So, this blog is devoted to being healthy – not just in body, but in mind and soul which are all essential to our well-being.  I hope to give health tips AND attempt to put them into practice.  I thought perhaps this blog would help me focus on practicing healthy habits, and perhaps it will help you as well.  Of course, this is in no way intended to treat anyone’s health issues – that’s for your doctor.  But I do want to pass along things I’m learning on my road to good health.  Who knows, perhaps one day I will change my blog title to the “I Am Healthy” Blogger!

I hope you’ll join me on this journey.

Healthy, Wealthy and Wise

“Early to bed, early to rise, makes a man healthy, wealthy and wise.”Benjamin Franklin, from the 1735 edition of Poor Richard’s Almanack

Healthy tip for today (for your body) According to an article in the First for Women magazine, magnesium is the ‘mineral that works better than a diet pill.’  It states, “In one of the biggest health breakthroughs of the past decade, scientists identified vitamin D as a nutrient all star that hinders fat-cell growth and speeds fat loss.  But to get the full benefits, the body needs magnesium.”  In addition, the article tells of the link between shortfalls of magnesium and adrenal fatigue and the metabolic role magnesium plays in weight loss.  Increased intake of magnesium has been shown to improve brainpower and stave off a number of common health concerns.  To read the entire article, pick up the July 8, 2012 issue, available at most grocery or big box stores, or online at www.myfirstforwomen.com.  I began taking magnesium a couple of weeks ago and it is already helping with some of my health issues (leg and foot cramps in particular).  As always, check with your healthcare provider before taking any supplements.

Wealthy tip for today (enrichment for your soul):  “Don’t store up treasures on earth! Moths and rust can destroy them, and thieves can break in and steal them. Instead, store up your treasures in heaven, where moths and rust cannot destroy them, and thieves cannot break in and steal them. Your heart will always be where your treasure is.” Matthew 6:19-21 CEV.  I’m thinking this may not be what you expected for a wealthy tip.  The best of these come from the Bible, God’s true treasure book.  I suggest reading it everyday to enrich your soul.

Wise tip for today (for the brain):  I’m not sure where I read or heard this, but here’s a tip for your brain.  When you get out of the bath or shower, towel off in a different order than you normally do.  Most people simply towel off the same way, day in and day out, without thinking.  Try starting with a different part of the body than you normally would and then go to the next different part.  This causes your brain to have to think about what you are doing rather than being on autopilot.  I began this practice quite some time ago and you do really have to stop and think, “I’m going to dry off my left foot now,” etc.  I trust in years to come I will see the benefits of exercising my brain in this small way!

Bonus Tip (for your outer beauty):  I’ve recently started this regimen for cleansing my face.  Wet your face.  Then take just a pinch of baking soda and mix with just a little water.  Rub gently all over your face for the perfect face scrub.  Don’t rub too hard or you might get a little irritation and don’t use on your eyes.  Rinse off with lukewarm water.  Your face will feel silky smooth and you’ll have no worries about harsh chemicals associated with commercial cleansers.  Next blog I will tell you what I put on my face after cleansing with baking soda.  You probably have it right in your kitchen.

Posted on July 12, 2012, in Healthy and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Lynn, thank you for all the good tips. I’m going to stick with you, but please find just a little good in chocolate and let me know! Great post, and your loving spirit shines right through to the bottom line. Bless you!

  2. I love your blog, Lynn. Looking forward to more. I agree with you about magnesium. I have been taking it for years. I was having problems with heart palpitations and a friend told me about magnesium, been taking it ever since and rarely have that problem now.

  3. Thanks, Nita! Magnesium is amazing. I’ve been sleeping better at night too. Thanks for your encouragement. Working on another post. Blessings!

  4. Great tips! I am going to try out your baking soda idea!

    • Thanks! Baking soda is a great face scrub! Afterwards, I put on honey and let it sit for about 5 minutes, rinse and then rub in olive oil. My skin always feels great! Blessings!

Leave a Reply

john pavlovitz

Stuff That Needs To Be Said

Esther In Grace

Living In Grace One Day At A Time

SA1969 Blog

Rescue, restore and protect architectural elements of historical significance.

Can't Stay Out Of The Kitchen

Teresa's adventures sharing our family's favorite recipes and trying new recipes

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The Local Traveler NS

Two travelers' tales and reviews from around Nova Scotia

Melissa Titus

Rebelling against the status quo for His cause

celtic straits

bradstrait.com -- real life stories from a christian mystic

Cheap Love

pursuing an adventure-filled marriage

Holland Scoop!

"Raising dynamic churches to reach this and future generations of Europeans."

Fully Mothering

Gracefully. Joyfully. Hopefully.

Certainly Resurgam

"So we do not lose heart. Though our outer self is wasting away, our inner self is being renewed day by day." - 2 Corinthians 4:16

Southern Girl

Blogging my life. My Work. My Passions. ME.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

