Beauty, Hummingbirds and the Back Porch

Waiting for the hummingbirds.

My husband and I were relaxing on our back porch one morning recently, enjoying our usual bowl of oatmeal and quiet before the day begins.  Our ‘back porch’ is really a deck, but I like the old fashioned term back porch – it sounds much cozier.  Suddenly, a loud buzz near my ear broke the quietness, and I swatted at what I thought was a bee getting uncomfortably close to me.  It flew away quickly, but not before I realized it was a beautiful hummingbird!  I love those tiny creatures and have always thought of them as sweet, until this particular morning.  As my eyes followed its path, I realized there were two of them and each was trying to keep the other from drinking nectar from our hummingbird feeder!  They would dive-bomb each other, fly off and come back squawking the entire time.  It was comical and magical at the same time.  If you’ve ever seen those old war movies with the planes in a dog fight, that’s the picture I’m trying to portray.  These hummingbirds were not being sweet at all.

Finally, one of the birds gave up and the other won the prize of the sweet nectar.  That’s when I realized that this was a ‘Kodak moment’ that just had to be captured.  I ran and grabbed the camera and gave it to my husband, who’s a much better photographer than I.  Of course, the birds were no where near the feeder when I returned.  So the waiting game began.

Hummingbirds have a mind of their own and don’t cooperate very well with a camera.  We finally spotted one perched in a tree but the other one had vanished.  Then the magical moment came…one hovered near the feeder and began to drink.  It was breathtakingly beautiful, almost surreal, watching its fairy-like wings flutter and its sharp beak bob in and out of the feeder. The bird’s head and back were green and its breast was white, and I couldn’t take my eyes off of him – I guess it was a ‘him’.  The buzzing of the bird’s wings were accompanied by the gentle click, click of my husband’s camera as he captured the moment.

What does all of this have to do with my “I want to be healthy” mantra?   Life is full of divine moments if we take time to sit on our back porch and wait.  But we are too busy, and by ‘we’ I mean all of us – the whole world.  Life passes us by and we miss the precious, magnificent, magical moments that would have given us such joy if we’d only taken the time to notice.  We worry too much and enjoy too little.   Stress takes its toll and the price we pay is our health.

These timeless words from Elizabeth Barrett Browning’s poem Aurora Leigh sum up what I’m trying say:

 Earth’s crammed with heaven, And every common bush afire with God;

But only he who sees, takes off his shoes, The rest sit around it and pluck blackberries.

Are you busy picking blackberries or have you seen the burning bush?  I’d love for you to comment.

(My healthy, wealthy and wise tips will be in my next blog.)

Finally one came to feed.

Absolutely beautiful!

In flight!

Back for more.

Worship the Lord in the beauty of holiness.  Fear before Him all the earth.  Psalm 96:6

Posted on July 27, 2012, in Healthy and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Esther In Grace

Living In Grace One Day At A Time

SA1969 Blog

Rescue, restore and protect architectural elements of historical significance.

Can't Stay Out Of The Kitchen

Teresa's adventures sharing our family's favorite recipes and trying new recipes

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The Local Traveler NS

Two travelers' tales and reviews from around Nova Scotia

Melissa Titus

Rebelling against the status quo for His cause

celtic straits

bradstrait.com -- real life stories from a christian mystic

Cheap Love

pursuing an adventure-filled marriage

Whiter Than Snow

"though your sins are like scarlet, they shall be as white as snow." Isaiah 1:18

Holland Scoop!

"Raising dynamic churches to reach this and future generations of Europeans."

Fully Mothering

Gracefully. Joyfully. Hopefully.

Certainly Resurgam

"So we do not lose heart. Though our outer self is wasting away, our inner self is being renewed day by day." - 2 Corinthians 4:16

Southern Girl

Blogging my life. My Work. My Passions. ME.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

