Vinegar: It’s Not Just for Salads

Since I have a full-time job during the week, I usually do most of my grocery shopping and housecleaning on Saturday. This particular Saturday I started my day by going to the grocery store, and after selecting my grocery items I remembered that I was out of a few household cleaners. I picked up my favorite bathroom scrubbing cleanser as well as a multi-purpose one with bleach and made my way to the checkout. After paying for my groceries, I headed home to start my cleaning. I was a woman on a mission!

I quickly put the groceries away, opened my new cleaning supplies and headed to the bathroom. There’s something satisfying about opening a new bottle of cleaner (okay, so I guess I don’t get out that much) and tackling those toilets, tiles and tubs! I finished scrubbing the counter in my bathroom and was ready to start on the mirror when I realized that I was out of glass cleaner. And I had just been to the store!

While I was mentally berating myself, I recalled a tidbit from one of the recesses of my mind…something about vinegar being good for cleaning windows and glass. Oh yes, it was my daughter-in-law who once told me that some professional window cleaners use vinegar and newspaper. I didn’t have newspaper, but I was pretty sure I had vinegar so I thought I would give it a try.

Looking through the pantry I found a gallon jug of distilled white vinegar that I’d purchased a while back, probably to make pickles (that I never made). Then I found an empty spray bottle, poured the vinegar in it and headed back to the bathroom. I was worried that the pungent liquid would make the bathroom smell like, well…vinegar.

Vinegar – an awesome glass cleaner!

“Here goes nothing,” I thought as I held my breath and began spraying the large mirror over our double-sink counter. When I finally took a breath, I was pleasantly surprised. It didn’t smell vinegary – it smelled clean and fresh. Awesome. After more spraying and wiping there were no streaks, just a sparkling clean mirror. I wondered if vinegar would make the chrome on the faucets shine since they looked a little dull from my scrubbing cleanser, so I gave the faucets a squirt. Amazing. After a few wipes, the faucets were beautiful and shiny!

A shiny faucet thanks to vinegar!

I was hooked, sold and joined Team Vinegar! No toxic fumes. Not harmful to humans or the environment. And cheap. My kind of cleaner! That afternoon I cleaned nearly every surface in my house with vinegar. Trust me…next Saturday, vinegar and I have a date.

Vinegar – it’s not just for salads.

I decided to do an internet search on vinegar after my spectacular cleaning results, and I found a website that gave 1001 uses at vinegartips.com. I thought I would share just a few here:

  1. Vinegar is not only effective for cleaning glass and chrome but for cleaning refrigerators, garbage disposals, dishwashers and coffee makers.
  2. Vinegar will kill weeds and grass growing in unwanted areas simply by pouring it full strength on them.
  3. Vinegar is useful for laundry. Add 1/4 cup to the last rinse and it will remove detergent residue, act as a fabric softener and attack mold and mildew.
  4. Vinegar will stop insect bites from itching – dab a cotton ball saturated in undiluted white vinegar to the affected area.
  5. Vinegar may ward off high blood sugar and Alzheimer’s risk factors. Research indicates that vinegar reduces risk factors that may lead to dementia. (Makes you want to go take a swig, doesn’t it!) For more information, read the book 100 Simple Things You Can Do to Prevent Alzheimer’s by Jean Carper.

Why not do a little experimenting with vinegar. Maybe you’ll find use number 1002.

Have you found an unexpected use for vinegar? I’d love for you to share your comments.

Vinegar, it’s not just for your salad!

An Update

I’m enjoying my ‘I want to be healthy’ journey! I’ve lost 21 pounds and have more energy than I have in years. I hope, if you are following along with me, that you’re having success too.

Healthy, wealthy and wise tip:

What do workers gain from their toil? I have seen the burden God has laid on the human race. He has made everything beautiful in its time. He has also set eternity in the human heart; yet no one can fathom what God has done from beginning to end. I know that there is nothing better for people than to be happy and to do good while they live. That each of them may eat and drink, and find satisfaction in all their toil—this is the gift of God. I know that everything God does will endure forever; nothing can be added to it and nothing taken from it. God does it so that people will fear him. Ecclesiastes 3:9-14

Posted on September 30, 2012, in Healthy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. We just started using vinegar to clean as well, with great results. I use baking soda and vinegar in the bathtub and it gets things really clean.

  2. Yes, I heard that baking soda worked great with vinegar. I will definitely try that. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

john pavlovitz

Stuff That Needs To Be Said

Esther In Grace

Living In Grace One Day At A Time

SA1969 Blog

Rescue, restore and protect architectural elements of historical significance.

Can't Stay Out Of The Kitchen

Teresa's adventures sharing our family's favorite recipes and trying new recipes

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The Local Traveler NS

Two travelers' tales and reviews from around Nova Scotia

Melissa Titus

Rebelling against the status quo for His cause

celtic straits

bradstrait.com -- real life stories from a christian mystic

Cheap Love

pursuing an adventure-filled marriage

Holland Scoop!

"Raising dynamic churches to reach this and future generations of Europeans."

Fully Mothering

Gracefully. Joyfully. Hopefully.

Certainly Resurgam

"So we do not lose heart. Though our outer self is wasting away, our inner self is being renewed day by day." - 2 Corinthians 4:16

Southern Girl

Blogging my life. My Work. My Passions. ME.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

