Family Traditions

This is the perfect time of the year for family traditions!  I was very moved by my daughter’s Facebook post on Thanksgiving Day. She wrote,  “I’m thankful for family and for family traditions. I know traditions aren’t always good, but I’m thankful for the ones that surround the holidays in my family. They give a sense of stability each year and something to look forward to. Even though we are celebrating tomorrow, the whole family will be here! And Mammaw is here until Christmas! God has blessed us with so much and I’m truly thankful! He is always faithful to provide for us, sometimes in unlikely ways. I can’t wait until next year, when we get to show our new nephew and three new nieces our traditions and be thankful together! God is so good! I love you all, family!” I wholeheartedly agree with her!

Below are photos from our ‘traditional’ Thanksgiving weekend. And by the way, there was really nothing very healthy on our menu for our Thanksgiving meal! Although I didn’t overdo it on the sweets, I did overeat a bit and boy was I miserable! However, I am committed to getting back on my healthy eating plan and thankful I didn’t have a significant weight gain. I am even more thankful for my beautiful family and our memory-filled time together.

“O give thanks unto The Lord for He is good!”

Do you have family traditions?  I would love for you to comment.

Healthy, wealthy and wise tip for today: Be sure to eat within one hour of rising each morning. Eat every three hours  and eat at the same time everyday. This will balance your hormones and blood sugar levels. However, make sure what you are eating is healthy!

Our “Giving Thanks” decorations.

Cornbread for the dressing baked in my iron skillet. Yum!

Dressing started. Wonder why it’s called ‘dressing’?

My homemade chocolate pecan pie (recipe courtesy of the Neely’s from the Food Network).

Everyone gathered in the kitchen – serving up the Thanksgiving meal buffet style.

Homemade mac and cheese, turkey and dressing, gravy, green bean casserole, sweet potato casserole, creamed corn, watergate salad, homemade rolls, cranberry sauce, little sweet pickles, olives and Mammaw’s hot potato salad. Delish!

Table laden with homemade desserts: pumpkin pie, pumpkin cheesecake, chocolate pecan pie, coconut cake.  How did that store bought pecan pie get in there? Oh well, it’s from Whole Foods so it much be healthy!

Enjoying our meal and each other’s company!

Remember the kids’ table when you were little?  I do!

After our Thanksgiving meal the family gathered for our annual tree hunt at Clark’s Hill Tree Farm.

Hayride to find the perfect tree.

Cousins having fun on the hayride.

On the hunt…

…for the perfect tree!

Found ours! Will it fit in our house??

The boys found theirs!

Our perfect trees are loaded on the wagon and soon will be gracing our homes.

Boiled peanuts and cocoa before we leave the tree farm.

Even the youngest grandkids love boiled peanuts!

Annual measuring of the grandkids. My how they’ve grown!

Our perfect Christmas tree has found its perfect resting place. And it fits!

All lit and  decorated with our traditional ornaments – some nearly 50 years old. Now we just need some presents!

Our annual family picture…the perfect end to a perfect day!

About Lynn Wilkerson

I am an Ambassador for Plexus Worldwide and I share health products and ways to increase your income. #askmeaboutplexus #iwanttobehealthy

Posted on November 28, 2012, in Healthy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment

Esther In Grace

Living In Grace One Day At A Time

SA1969 Blog

Rescue, restore and protect architectural elements of historical significance.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The Local Traveler NS

Two travelers' tales and reviews from around Nova Scotia

Melissa Titus

Rebelling against the status quo for His cause

celtic straits

bradstrait.com -- real life stories from a christian mystic

Cheap Love

pursuing an adventure-filled marriage

Holland Scoop!

"Raising dynamic churches to reach this and future generations of Europeans."

Fully Mothering

Gracefully. Joyfully. Hopefully.

Southern Girl

Blogging my life. My Work. My Passions. ME.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences